Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

User Experience Toolkit

Remove -vs- Delete

Remove and Delete are defined quite similarly, but the main difference between them is that delete means erase (i.e. rendered nonexistent or nonrecoverable), while remove denotes take away and set aside (but kept in existence).

What Problem Does this Solve?

Knowing the difference between the two will alleviate any indecision the user may have when choosing to remove something temporarily or deleting something permanent

What is the Solution?

For consistency, it is helpful for the user to know the slight difference between the two. Making for a smoother transition

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.